Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Emerald Isle: One of the Seven New Natural Wonders of the World October 9, 2010

Filed under: Travel — thekitchenbitch @ 2:32 PM
Tags: , , ,

The Cliffs of Moher

Day 6: The Cliffs of Mohr and The Burren Region
We woke up extra early to make the two-hour trek to the Cliffs of Mohr, one of the most breathtaking and dramatic stretches of Ireland’s west coast. We changed up cars yet again, and I got to ride with my dad and my two sisters, Annie and Paige.

Driving with dad and my sisters to the Cliffs of Moher

My sister Annie always falls asleep in the car.

The scenery on the way to the cliffs was almost as beautiful as the cliffs themselves.

On the way to the Cliffs of Moher

Drive to the Cliffs of Moher

We all met at visitor’s center at the base of the cliffs and prepared to trek up the hundreds of stairs leading to the top and push my grandma up the somewhat treacherous wheelchair path.

The steps to the Cliffs of Moher

Luckily, the view was so amazing you forgot you were climbing stairs in the first place. The cliffs rise 650 feet out of the sea and extend 5 miles along the shoreline. At the top of the magnificent hill sits O’Brien’s Tower, which has a stunning 360-degree view of the cliffs and the surrounding environs.

O'Brien's Tower at the top of the cliffs

The view of the Cliffs of Moher from O'Brien's Tower. My mom, grandpa and my brother are pushing my grandma up the hill.

Each of the overlooks had its own unique vantage point of the cliffs and rocks below.

Posing on one of the Cliffs of Moher.

A view of the valley below the Cliffs of Moher

Another shot of the valley below the Cliffs of Moher

We made our way back down the tricky wheelchair path and struck a pose for a family photo op.

The Linnemann family strikes a pose at the base of the Cliffs of Moher.

The Linnemann family strikes a pose at the base of the Cliffs of Moher.

The Cliffs of Mohr are, in fact, a starting point for exploring the Burren region; the word “Burren” comes from the word boireann, which means “rocky land” in Gaelic.  So after descending the cliffs we hopped in the car and began our scenic drive through the vast limestone plateau of the Burren.

Our first view of the Burren

Before we could get too far, we realized we needed to stop for lunch. We happened upon Doolin, a town renowned for its traditional music. According to our guidebook, Gus O’Connor’s Pub acts a focus for music lovers in the area, so we knew that was where we needed to stop.

Mom and I outside Gus O'Connor's Pub

We all started with a pint, and I decided to give the bangers and mash a try. I knew I didn’t want to eat a pure blood sausage as I’ve heard they do in these parts, but when I asked the bartender if the bangers were blood sausage, she replied: “All sausages are blood sausages, and these are made from pork.” I gave them a try anyway. I would say they tasted somewhere between a hot dog and a sausage, with some very odd seasoning. They were served with very salty brown gravy and both mashed potatoes (best I’ve had since I arrived) and, of course, French fries.

Bangers and Mash

My sister Paige ordered the house special, roast lamb.

Roast Lamb at O’Connor’s Pub

The fire at O’Connor’s was so warm and inviting, I couldn’t help but take a picture in front of it.

Sharing a pint with my parents at Gus O'Conner's Pub in Doolin.

Here’s the view of the valley right outside the pub. Breathtaking, isn’t it?

My sister's boyfriend, Brian, checks out the valley facing Doolin's pub.

The Burren is a unique botanical environment in which Mediterranean and alpine plants grown side by side through the limestone pavements streaking the valley.

My sisters and I at our first stop on our drive through the Burren.

We pulled over and explored some of the rocky overhangs on the coastline.

The KB standing on a precipice overlooking the ocean in the Burren region.

Brian checking out the ocean from a cliff in the Burren

We made the two-hour journey home and I checked my email before starting dinner while everyone else napped. Soon after, my kitchen bitches (Annie, Paige, Bart, Chelsea and Louis) came to help me make hamburgers, Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Salad, baked bean and British flapjacks. After dinner, we relaxed around the fire and prepared for another day of sightseeing.

 

One Response to “Emerald Isle: One of the Seven New Natural Wonders of the World”

  1. […] Two Years Ago: Emerald Isle: One of the Seven New Natural Wonders of the World […]


Leave a Reply

