Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Quick and Easy Crispy Fish Tacos October 18, 2010


Crispy Fish Tacos with Pink Chili Mayo

It’s Monday morning, and it’s back to the grind for me after a lovely two-week stint tramping around Ireland and then a weeklong stint here in Chicago creating a ruckus with my 27th birthday festivities. Most people need a short vacation after vacation (you know what I mean), and in my cooking life, like in my work life, I needed to ease back into the swing of things with simple, basic tasks that reoriented me to the real world and to what’s going on around me.

For example, the food in Ireland was not the tastiest (or the healthiest) I’d ever tried, so the first thing I did when I returned was to eat as much flavorful food and vegetables as I possibly could in the span of 48 hours: I ordered crab Rangoon and spicy pad ki mao from Yes Thai around the corner; I chowed down on tacos al pastor and pork belly tacos from Big Star in Bucktown; and Doug treated me to samosas and chicken tikka masala at Treat in Logan Square for my birthday.

Although restaurant food is great and all, a homemade quick and easy meal is usually better for you and your wallet. In an effort to get back to the wonderful world of cooking after vacation, I’m bringing you a deliciously easy recipe: Crispy Fish Tacos.

Yes, the fish in these tacos is fried, but it’s probably still better for you than meat or pork—at least that’s what I keep telling myself. The Pink Chili Mayo is a don’t-miss condiment for these tacos, and it’s super easy to make, even when you’re feeling lazy after a long trip. Make sure you slather it on your tacos with zest, because there never seemed to be enough sauce on mine. (It’s addicting!) I would serve this with my Spanish-Style Rice and Bean Salad to make it a full meal.

Crispy Fish Tacos
This recipe is adapted from Tyler Florence. Panko breadcrumbs can be found in the Asian section of most grocery stores. Prep: 15 minutes. Serves 8. Make pink chili mayo 30 minutes before you start the tacos. Click here for a print copy of this recipe

Peanut oil or canola oil, for frying
2 c. panko breadcrumbs
3 eggs
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 pounds halibut, snapper, tilapia, or other firm flesh white fish
8 corn tortillas
½ head napa cabbage, shredded
Pink Chili Mayo, recipe follows
Lime wedges, for garnish

Prep fish. Fill a large heavy bottomed pot about 1/3 full of peanut oil. Heat to 375˚F. While the oil is heating, put the breadcrumbs into a shallow dish. Break the eggs into another shallow dish, season with salt and pepper, and beat them with 2 tablespoons of water. Cut the fish into 1-inch wide strips. Dip them into the egg, then coat them well with the breadcrumbs. Set aside and let them rest for 10 minutes.

Fish breading station

Fry fish. Cook the fish a few pieces at a time until golden brown and cooked through, about 3 to 5 minutes. Drain on paper towels or on wire rack set over a sheet pan lined with paper towels.

The fish pieces fry up in no time in hot peanut oil.

The fried fish for the tacos

Make tacos. Heat a dry cast iron skillet over medium heat. Warm a corn tortilla in the pan until it softens, about 30 seconds. Place a fish strip on it, top with some of the shredded cabbage, and a big of Pink Chili Mayo. Squeeze on some lime  juice, roll up, and eat!

Yummy Crispy Fish Tacos

Pink Chili Mayo
Serves 8. Leftovers are great on sandwiches. I freeze the leftover chipotle peppers in a zip-top bag and just cut off the amount I need from the frozen log whenever a recipe calls for chipotles; that way the leftovers don’t go to waste.

1½ c. mayonnaise
1½ c. sour cream
2 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
Juice from 1/2 lime
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Put the mayonnaise, sour cream, peppers, and lime juice in a blender and process to a puree. Refrigerate the mayo for 1/2 hour to let the flavors to blend; taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.

Blend Pink Chili Mayo ingredients in a small food processor

Pink Chili Mayo

 

4 Responses to “Quick and Easy Crispy Fish Tacos”

  1. Paige Linnemann Says:

    So, I have had similar taco’s at a very popular restuarant in the Central West End in St. Louis and they are the most popular dish. Yummy! I can’t wait to make some. Oh Mavi, what do you think about adding some avocado and fresh squeezed lime juice?… Just a thought lava. Tottleloo!

  2. Beth Says:

    YUM! Fish tacos are one of my all time favorites.

  3. […] a ruckus with my 27th kitchenbitchblog.com […]


Leave a Reply

