Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Thanksgiving Pies: Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe November 19, 2010


Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe—Don't you love the name?

Last Thanksgiving I went all out with my desserts: I made Bourbon Pumpkin Cheesecake and a Four-Layer Pumpkin Cake with Orange Cream Cheese Frosting. I thought they were great, but most everyone else just wanted those Thanksgiving classics—pumpkin and pecan pie.

So this year I’m making the Pioneer Woman’s Pecan Pie and this Perfect Pumpkin Pie recipe for all those sticklers for tradition. But being the Kitchen Bitch and an avid baker, I just have to add something unique to the spread on our Thanksgiving dessert table.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to whip up some truffles for those family members with a hankering for chocolate, but I wanted something more along the lines of a pie or cake to also contribute. The dessert needed to have fruit and cinnamon (this is Thanksgiving, after all) because, in my book, nothing beats that heavenly combination.

I happened upon this recipe for Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe in my inbox one day last week. First off, with an old timey name like Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe, how can you go wrong? It sounds like something you might order from your local diner, where the pies are made fresh every day because they fly off the shelf like hotcakes this time of year. Second, I’d never thought of combining apple pie filling with sour cream. I love the tangy goodness sour cream adds to savory foods, so why not try it with sweet ones?

Lastly, this pie is served chilled, which is perfect when it comes to preparing for Thanksgiving Day. I don’t know about you, but my ma and I cook for 30, so it takes me several days to prepare for this beast of a holiday. (I really do love it, mind you.) Anything that I can make on Tuesday and serve on Thursday is No. 1 in my book, and I bet it is for you, too.

Unlike traditional apple pies, this apple pie has a crumble topping instead of a double piecrust. The creamy apple-studded filling and the crumbled, almost crunchy topping really complement each other beautifully. I’m just hoping this pie goes over well with the family, but I probably shouldn’t worry. Who doesn’t love apple pie?

Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe
This recipe is adapted from one I found on Allrecipes.com by phebesue75. Unlike a traditional apple pie, this one is served chilled. Of course, vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream are great toppers no matter what kind of pie you’re serving. You can use store-bought piecrust or make your own. Click here to download a copy of this recipe.

For the filling:
1 unbaked 9-inch piecrust
¾ c. sugar
2 Tbs. all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp. salt
1 c. sour cream
½ tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
2.5 c. diced apples, from about 3 apples

For the topping:
1/3 c. brown sugar
1/3 c. white sugar
2/3 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
1 stick (½ c.) chilled unsalted butter, diced

Prepare piecrust. Preheat the oven to 425˚F. Gently press the piecrust into and up the sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Trim any excess.

 

Drape crust over pie plate

Gently press into place and cut off excess dough

Make filling. In a medium bowl, stir together sugar, flour, and salt. Mix in the sour cream, egg and vanilla until smooth. Add apples, and stir to coat. Scrape the mixture into the pie shell.

 

Add filling to prepared crust

Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven, then reduce heat to 350˚F, and continue baking for 30 minutes more.

 

After 45 minutes the pie filling begins to congeal nicely

While the pie is baking, prepare the topping in a medium bowl. Stir together flour, sugars, and cinnamon. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles fine crumbs.

 

The topping for the pie. Definitely break yours up smaller than I did!

Top pie and bake again. After the 30 minute bake time has passed, cover the top of the pie with the crumb topping, and continue to bake for 15 minutes, or until topping is lightly browned and apples are tender. Allow the pie to cool, then refrigerate until chilled before serving.

 

Cover the filling with the buttery topping

The apple pie right out of the oven

 

Chill the pie and cut into it whenever you can't stand to wait any longer

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving Pies: Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe”

  1. […] Green Beans with Almonds Cheddar Biscuits Homemade Pumpkin Pie Pioneer Woman’s Pecan Pie Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Pumpkin Bread Pudding by Bobby Flay Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream (recipe by David Lebovitz) Homemade […]


Leave a Reply

