Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

A KB Thanksgiving Preview November 22, 2010


Apple-Cider Brined Turkey with Lemon and Rosemary

Happy almost Thanksgiving dear readers! I arrived at my parents’ house in Northern Kentucky last night, and I started preparing for Thanksgiving this morning. It may sound ridiculous to start this early in the week, but when you’re feeding 30 very hungry Linnemanns, it’s best to begin preparing sooner rather than later. Plus, if I spread out all my tasks over the week, it’s not bad for me or my feet, which always hurt after a long day in the kitchen. And, of course, my parents are slammed with work this week, so getting the house and food ready is all up to me again. Let’s just say it’s becoming an annual tradition. 🙂

On the plus side, I’ve delegated out most of the side dishes to my lovely aunts and cousins, who were all willing to pitch in and lend a helping hand. That leaves me making the stuffing and desserts, handling the turkey, and whipping up a giant vat of my favorite cranberry chutney.

The turkey pictured above is the one I roasted last year. I like to brine my turkey in an apple cider-salt water solution and then rub it down with a yummy herb butter before stuffing it with lemon, onion, rosemary and sage. As you can see, it’s one helluva turkey. I’m probably going to do a riff of this brine by the Pioneer Woman, an excellent food blogger who just threw down with Bobby Flay last week and won.

Today I made Alton Brown’s recipe for candied ginger. What do I use all this damn candied ginger for, you ask? Cranberry chutney! I like to give out jars of my cranberry chutney to guests to eat with leftover turkey, so I make a large stockpot of the stuff a few days before. The chutney is a sweet-tart mix of cranberries, apples, pears, onion, raisins, spices and, of course, candied ginger. It goes incredibly well with the turkey and it’s delicious on it’s own as well. I’ll be blogging about that recipe tomorrow, if all goes well.

I really like to hear what people are having for Thanksgiving, so I thought I’d share what we’re having this year. Here’s the list:

Apple Cider-Brined Turkey with Rosemary and Lemon
Alice Moeves’ Traditional Stuffing
Goetta & Herb Stuffing —a new Kitchen Bitch concoction still in the works
Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Brussels Sprouts with Bacon & Dried Cranberries
Cranberry Chutney
Soul Sweet ’Taters
Green Beans with Almonds
Cheddar Biscuits
Homemade Pumpkin Pie
Pioneer Woman’s Pecan Pie
Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe
Pumpkin Bread Pudding by Bobby Flay
Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream (recipe by David Lebovitz)
Homemade Cinnamon Ice Cream (recipe by David Lebovitz)

 

So, dear readers, what I am missing that you make at Thanksgiving? What are you favorite Thanksgiving dishes? Do you roast a turkey or skip it altogether and go with another protein?

 

 

Leave a Reply

