Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Feed a Crowd: Texas-Style Oven-Roasted Beef Brisket April 1, 2011


As I’ve mentioned before, in what’s most definitely been my most popular post all time, A Sure Crowd Pleaser: Beef Brisket with Homemade BBBQ Sauce, my boyfriend Doug LOVES brisket. If it’s on the menu, 10 to 1 he’s going to be ordering it for dinner.

So when one of Doug’s coworkers took a trip to Costco to purchase a brisket to cook in his new smoker (Adam & Jenni: I’m still waiting on an invite to come see that thing in action! 🙂 Who doesn’t love smoked meats?) I asked Doug to throw Adam some money to pick us up one, too.  When you can feed 8–10 people large quantities of meat for $20, you know you’ve made a good purchase.

It’s been said that beef brisket is Texas’s state dish, so I thought it’d be fun to give Texas-style beef brisket a try. Since it’s still so friggin’ cold here in Chicago, cooking it on the grill was not an option, so I looked around for a oven-roasted brisket recipe. The recipe I decided on was one from Miss Paula Deen herself, who I can’t help but love for her insane propensity for slathering butter on everything and saying “y’all” every other sentence. What can I say? I may live in the big city, but I’m a Kentucky girl at heart.

(Speaking of which, I’ve gotten repeated phones calls from family members saying I’ll be removed from the will if I don’t root for UK in their upcoming Final Four game against UConn, Doug’s favorite team. “You’ve got blue blood running from in your veins!” the fam likes to argue. I haven’t revealed my decision yet, just for the fun of it.)

I’m not sure how much Texas there is in Paula Deen’s recipe, but it sure tastes good. A flavorful spice rub is created and rubbed into the brisket before roasting it for an hour in the oven. Then beef or veal stock is added to pan, and the brisket is braised for another three hours, low and slow, until it’s fork-tender and falling apart. Instead of BBQ sauce for this brisket, the pan juices are simply spooned over the sliced brisket as the sauce. It’s like a Brisket Au Jus, you could say. It’s definitely a different way to enjoy beef brisket, and like the barbequed version, it’s a real crowd pleaser.

Texas-Style Oven-Roasted Beef Brisket
I just can’t help myself with the Paula Deen recipes sometimes; she’s got quite a few dandies! I modified this one by adding cumin and cayenne for a little heat. Total Time: 4 hours. Serve 10. Click here to download a printable PDF copy of this recipe.

2 Tbs. chili powder
2 Tbs. salt
1Tbs. garlic powder
1 Tbs. onion powder
1 Tbs. ground black pepper
1 Tbs. sugar
2 tsp. dry mustard
2 tsp. cumin
½ tsp. cayenne
1 bay leaf, crushed
4 pounds beef brisket, trimmed
1½ c. beef or veal stock

Make dry rub. Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Make a dry rub by combining chili powder, salt, garlic and onion powders, black pepper, sugar, dry mustard, and bay leaf.

Season and roast uncovered. Season the raw brisket on both sides with the rub. Place in a roasting pan and roast, uncovered, for 1 hour.

Add liquid and braise. Add beef stock and enough water to yield about 1/2 inch of liquid in the roasting pan. Lower oven to 300˚F, cover pan tightly and continue cooking for 3 hours, or until fork-tender.

Slice and serve. Trim the fat and slice meat thinly across the grain. Top with juice from the pan.

 

12 Responses to “Feed a Crowd: Texas-Style Oven-Roasted Beef Brisket”

  1. Now that brisket looks heavenly and could feed the army I call my stomach 🙂

  2. […] Feed a Crowd: Texas-Style Oven-Roasted Beef Brisket (via Kitchen Bitch) Posted on April 1, 2011 by My Grandparents' Kitchen As I’ve mentioned before, in what’s most definitely been my most popular post all time, A Sure Crowd Pleaser: Beef Brisket with Homemade BBBQ Sauce, my boyfriend Doug LOVES brisket. If it’s on the menu, 10 to 1 he’s going to be ordering it for dinner. So when one of Doug’s coworkers took a trip to Costco to purchase a brisket to cook in his new smoker (Adam & … Read More […]

  3. That looks amazing, I love brisket too! I am totally making this.

  4. Abigail Sharpe Says:

    This can’t be a Paula Deen recipe! Not enough butter in it! *laugh*

    Sounds really good.

  5. Louis Says:

    I’ve had the pleasure of having the KB cook this for me and my family and words can’t begin to describe how tender and delicious it was. The BBQ sauce and the brisket are a match made in heaven. The only thing that stopped me from getting a 4th plate was my belt and so I loosened it up and dug in for some more!!! Awesome recipe!!

  6. Annette Rubelmann Says:

    Thanks for the recipe! And as a UConn grad, sorry about UK’s defeat last night….. The good thing is, no matter who you ended up rooting for, you could call yourself a blueblood and get away with it!

    • Lol! That’s certainly true! I didn’t tell me parents, but I rooted for UConn the whole time. My boyfriend about died during the game, but now he’ so excited for the game on Monday. Go Huskies!

  7. chefshellina Says:

    One word: AWESOME.

  8. […] was inspired to make this from The Kitchen Bitch’s blog post.  It was so tender and delicious!  I made a 6-lb brisket for a crowd of about 10 […]

  9. Nancy Graves Says:

    Hey y’all, what are some ideas for side dishes with beef brisket?

    • Hi Nancy,
      Any classic BBQ side dishes are great with beef brisket, like mac ‘n’ cheese, collard greens, any kind of ‘tater, etc., or you could go very traditional and make Jewish sides like kugel. Happy cooking! ~Mavis

  10. […] Man Meals column (see, for example, this post) and my ever-popular Feed a Crowd column (check out this post on Texas-style beef brisket, for […]


Leave a Reply

