Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Easter Fun: Speckled Eggs April 5, 2012


Hello from Washington DC, dear readers! I’m running around our nation’s capital with my youngest sister, Annie, and we’ve been having a grand time eating our way around the city. (I mean, what else would I do  on vacation?) Sadly, this has been a working vacation, but it’s a vacation nonetheless, and I’m super excited because we’re both taking off this afternoon to go to the Newsuem, a highly interactive museum dedicated to … you’ve guessed it, the news. As a journalism school grad (Go ‘Cuse!), it’s right up my alley.

Next week I’ll go into more detail about some of the yummy restaurants we’ve tried, because today we’re focused on one thing: Easter. And even if you don’t celebrate Easter, these eggs are really fun to make as a colorful party statement.

I have to admit: I’ve been saving this recipe for over a year now, since I made them last Easter, so the pictures were taken with my old camera. The pictures aren’t as beautiful as I would like, but I think they still convey how fun and festive these eggs are.

The process is simple really. You will need:

  • Hard-boiled eggs
  • Liquid food coloring (I like to have both neon and traditional colors. You need 10-20 drops of food coloring to get bright hues.)
  • Several Tupperware containers or bowls deep enough for dying the eggs
  • Vinegar, for brightening the dye.
  • Enough water to completely submerge the eggs in each container.

Start with cold hard-boiled eggs. Roll them around on a paper towel on the counter so they develop little tiny cracks all over.

For each color you would like to make, combine 2 tsp. vinegar, 10-20 drops of food coloring, and enough water to cover the eggs in that container. Then, take your cracked egg(s), and lower them into the mixture. The longer you leave the egg in the mixture, the darker the color will be. If you’re going to leave the eggs in the mixture for more than an hour (up to 4 hours), then transfer the container to the refrigerator.

Remove the eggs from the dye, pat dry with paper towels, and peel them. Voila! Speckled eggs. You can eat them as you would a hard-boiled eggs, or you can make them into really gorgeous deviled eggs with your favorite deviled egg recipe. The possibilities are endless!

Happy Easter everyone! What’s your favorite Easter tradition? Do you make hot cross buns? Or egg casseroles? Or always order a Honeybaked ham? I want to know! Share your traditions in the Comment section.

One Year Ago: Philly’s Best: Chicken Cheesesteaks and Build Your Own Waldorf Salad

 

One Response to “Easter Fun: Speckled Eggs”

  1. alessiarose Says:

    I always make Portuguese Easter bread, just like Ma used to make every Easter. A sweet and light braided yeast bread, I look forward to it all year!


Leave a Reply

