Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

Everyday Luxury: Homemade Granola May 31, 2012


I’ve been making homemade granola for Douglas for a few weeks now, and it’s been a hit or miss experience. The first batch was incredibly delicious, so I thought I had it down pat. NOT! I overcooked the second batch (easier than you might think) and the third batch just didn’t have the flavor I was looking for. There was something missing from these batches that just didn’t add up.

The answer, of course, was right in front of my face. Although my first batch had turned out super delicious, I hadn’t included coconut because my husband claims not to like it. Like any sneaky but self-respecting wife, I decided I was going to add the coconut into my next batch to see if my husband even noticed—it’s a granola recipe staple, after all.

Low and behold, my granola finally came out just the way I wanted it to: crunchy from the golden oats, chewy from the craisins, wonderfully sweet from the coconut, brown sugar and Lyle’s Golden Syrup (one of my favorite secret ingredients, buy it on Amazon or at your favorite specialty market), and nutty from a combination of my favorite nuts: almonds, pecans, and cashews. My husband didn’t event notice the coconut in the granola—it melts into the oats, adding a much-needed healthy fat and a burst of sweetness.

Making your own granola is so much cheaper than buying it at the store (and it’s super easy), and I really think it’s much more delicious. You can use easily swap out fats and flavorings to change up the recipe, or add healthy stuff like flax seed to up the nutritional value. Really, the possibilities are endless, so go ahead, make your own granola!

Homemade Granola

Recipe adapted from Alton Brown. You can find Lyle’s Golden Syrup online at Amazon.com or at specialty food stores. You can substitute maple syrup for golden syrup if you like. Here’s a printable PDF of this recipe.

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup sliced almonds
1 cup cashews or other nuts
¾ cup shredded sweet coconut
¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons Lyle’s Golden Syrup or maple syrup
¼ cup melted butter or vegetable oil
¾ teaspoon salt
1 cup raisins, Craisins, or other dried fruit

Directions

Preheat oven to 250˚F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.

Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add raisins and mix until evenly distributed. Let cool completely before storing in jars or a plastic bag.

 

Leave a Reply

