Kitchen Bitch

Cooking in the Kitchen with Sass & Class

My Biggest Event Yet + Watermelon, Tomato, and Feta Salad September 7, 2012


Hello Dear Readers! Wow these past few weeks have been crazy and crazy fun! Last weekend I catered the biggest event of my career, a 150-person after-wedding party at Neon’s Unplugged in downtown Cincinnati, for my very dear friend Carmen and her now-husband Ben. I love these two so much, it was awesome to be able to feed them and their families the day after their big day!

Being that it’s just me, myself, and I at The Delish Dish, I spent the week beforehand making the food in stages for the party. Luckily, I had some awesome help on the day of the party: my beautiful family! Thanks guys! They really helped me make everything look beautiful and delicious.

And I know God’s on my side because it didn’t rain until right as we were starting to break down the buffet. And although I’m not particularly religious, I had to say, “Amen!”

One of my favorite dishes of the day was the Tomato, Watermelon, and Feta Salad Cups. I usually make this salad in a large bowl, but I loved the idea of having individual servings ready for people to take and eat as they mingled with the crowd. Little plastic appetizer forks stuck into the salad cups made them extra cute and special!

Thanks Carmen and Ben for letting me share a part of your big day! XOXO The Delish Dish aka The KB

Watermelon, Heirloom Tomato, and Feta Salad

You can use any combination of fresh herbs in this salad, such as a mix of parsley, basil, mint, and chives, or even cilantro. You can use large heirlooms tomatoes, or I sometimes like to use yellow cherry tomatoes for pretty pop of color. Prep: 13 minutes. Serves 6. Click here to download a printable copy of this recipe.

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons chopped mixed fresh herbs
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
½ teaspoon kosher salt
4 heirloom tomatoes, cut into chunks, or 2 pints of cherry tomatoes, halved
2 cups cubed red seedless watermelon
¼ cup vertically sliced red onion
½ cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions
Whisk together first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Add tomato, watermelon, and onion; toss to coat. Sprinkle with cheese; toss gently.

MAKE AHEAD: The watermelon, tomato, and onion can all be chopped up to 2 days ahead of time and stored in separate containers. The dressing can be made 2 days in advance and stored in a mason jar.

 

3 Responses to “My Biggest Event Yet + Watermelon, Tomato, and Feta Salad”

  1. Susie Sullivan Fiske Says:

    Congratulations on the large event!!!nd thanks for sharing the recipe–I am going to try it at my next event!! xoxoxo

  2. Karen Says:

    Great job!!!Nice presentation, all must have enjoyed. Quite a feat for one person.Congrats!!

  3. Desh Milla Says:

    Wow, the food colors and locations are so beautiful together! Everything looks so great, it really makes me want to go have a picnic!


Leave a Reply

